The Winter Faith Newsletter by Andrew Frazier
The Winter Faith Newsletter by Andrew Frazier
Meet Earl Carr
0:00
-38:04

Meet Earl Carr

The Winter Faith Newsletter

Meet Earl Carr

Earl Carr is a friend who is wrestling with the current politics of our time. He writes as a Christian, an American, and a son of immigrants.

He recently was on the Winter Faith Podcast; the interview is attached to this post.

I am so impressed with Earl’s work as a financial advisor on Wall Street, a husband, a parent, and a writer; yet, I am more impressed with his compassionate heart and creative mind. His words make me reflect on my responsibility as a Christian in our current cultural climate.

Below is a recent article by Earl.

Contextualizing Faith, The China Virus, and Black Lives Matter

To begin the article Earl writes:

“Being half Black (my father hails from the Island of Jamaica) and half Chinese (my grandparents are from Southern China in Guangdong province) my reality distilling race relations living in America is unique in traversing multiple cultures. Growing up in New York City, I struggled with my cultural identity. At school, kids would often make fun of me calling me names like “Rasta Chink,” or saying things like “hey, mon, want some pork fried rice,” in a pejorative Chinese and Jamaican accent.”

Earl writes with a vulnerability that I seek to have in my own writing. Earl writes critically of the politics of our times form his perspective as a multiracial Christian. He questions the actions of the church leaders and their unwillingness to stand up for causes impacting many African and Asian Americans. He motivates me to reflect more deeply on the politics and the causes that I support.

He concludes stating his concerns for America’s future because of our lack of unity and empathy for others. I share the same concerns as Earl in these causes. He calls me and others to be more thoughtful in our language, especially at this time.

So…

May we be thoughtful people who provoke peace with our actions.

May we let God mold and shape our hearts and minds when we need to change our prejudices against people from different backgrounds.

May we be people who offer healing support to people around us who are hurting.

0 Comments
The Winter Faith Newsletter by Andrew Frazier
The Winter Faith Newsletter by Andrew Frazier
spiritual and emotional encouragement for winter seasons of faith
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Andrew Frazier